New Years Day Race 2024

Notts County sailing club’s annual First of the Year race is a popular event both on and off the water. This year with it being the 200th year of the RNLI, all donations for entry contributed £311 to the RNLI.

There were 45 entries, 41 dinghies and 4 windsurfers. Whilst many were club members there were visitors from local sailing clubs including Nottingham, Staunton, Burton & Attenborough 

Racing started in sunshine with a light wind, enough for a good sail but not too windy. The Willars, the race officers, set a two beat course using most of the lake, it was quite a sight seeing so many boats stretched out in the sunshine.

Jamie Mawson (Notts County) in an RS600 led the fleet overall in the first race, and won on handicap, with Sam Grayton (Notts County) in a Laser finishing second overall, he was also first junior by some distance. Jeremy Arnold & John Allen from the home club were 3rd in their Flying 15.

The next race saw Jamie second overall, so winning overall, and the Goeff Parker Memorial trophy, Joe Scurrah (Notts County) won the second race on handicap in his Aero, with Kevin Hope and Andy Stewart, coming in third on handicap in their Fireball.

Joe  won the Phil Davies Cup for second overall and first Slow handicap boat.

Sam Grayton was first junior and third overall in a very competitive fleet, second junior was Sam Mason, with Kat Gunn two places behind.

The commodore presented the prizes, and Jamie Mawson thanked all the Race crew, safety crew and catering for a great days racing.

The windsurf fleet saw a smaller entry but some good competition, with Gerry Ball Just winning the first race from Guy Sprekley and Ian Pilkington and Ollie Beadnel not far behind. Gerry winning the racing overall with a first in the second race.

The next event is the start of the Midlands winter series, on 27/28th January comprising of racing at four local venues, Notts County, Staunton Harold, Burton and Ogston.




Website Hosted by Keyhole IT Solutions